My Favorite Poem

Re-wind By Mackenzie F.

I suck in and straighten my posture.
I blush and hold the dreamy gaze.
My face turns red and palms become sweaty.
I look to the floor and back up.
Still watching.

I smile, but a shy one not the cute girly one that I wear.
Class is still going but I hardly notice.
How long has it been?
Not long enough.
Who will chicken out?
Me,it is ALWAYS me.

And it is, but this time I look back.
Still eyes are on me with a smile at the corners.
A friendly one.

Then finally he looks away.
I let myself breathe again.
He doesn’t like-like me I tell myself.
It will never work out anyway.
But still I smile.
Just wishing I could re-wind.

I wrote this poem about how sometimes you don’t know if someone likes you. Even though some signs might point to yes you never really know what is going on inside his LITTLE brain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *